Tesla increases Model S Plaid price in Canada by $10K [Update]

Model S Plaid price Canada

Less than 24 hours after increasing the price of the Model S Plaid in the U.S., Tesla has also increased the price in Canada.

Last night Tesla updated the price of the Model S Plaid from $119,990 USD to $129,990 USD, an increase of $10,000 USD. At the time the price change did not affect Canadian orders, meaning the price difference between the two countries when taking the exchange rate into account was only a few thousand dollars.

The [almost] price parity was short lived, as the automaker increased the price north of the border this afternoon, also by $10,000. The flagship vehicle now starts at $169,990 in Canada.

The price of the Model Y was also increased in the U.S. last night, but fortunately that change did not carry over to the Canadian Design Studio.

The price increase comes just a few hours before the first deliveries of the Model S Plaid are scheduled to take place. Tesla will be hosting a special event at its Fremont factory test track tonight, where attendees will be able to get up close and personal with the new car, even getting the chance to take test drives in the world’s fastest car.

If you are not one of the lucky attendees, you can watch the event livestream on Tesla’s website. The doors to the event open at 7:00pm PST (10:00pm EST), with “remarks” and the livestream beginning at 8:30pm PST (11:30pm EST).

UPDATE: It looks like the price increase was not limited to Canada. A Drive Tesla reader in Norway reports they too saw an increase this afternoon.

https://twitter.com/LSkarseth/status/1403106500818653188

About Darryn John 2913 Articles
Founder and Editor-in-chief of Drive Tesla Canada | Darryn@DriveTeslaCanada.ca Have a Tesla tip? Email tips@driveteslacanada.ca, or DM us on Twitter @DriveTeslaca