NHTSA updates Tesla Model 3/Y safety feature listings after removal of radar


Following Tesla’s decision to remove radar from the Model 3 and Model Y, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has updated its safety feature listings for both vehicles.

In an update to its website yesterday, the government agency has removed the check marks indicating some active safety features are no longer standard on vehicles made after April 27, 2021.

These include Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Crash Imminent Braking, and Dynamic Brake Support.

Vehicles made before this date continue to have the check mark, as seen in the two images below.

NHTSA Model Y after
Image via NHTSA
NHTSA Model Y before
Image via NHTSA

Despite the update and loss of the check marks, both the Model 3 and Y have maintained their overall 5-star safety rating.

The change is only temporary though.

When the automaker announced Tesla Vision earlier this week, it said that some features would be temporarily limited or restricted. It also said those features would return following a series of software updates that expected to be deployed in the coming weeks.

About Darryn John 5785 Articles
Founder and Editor-in-chief of Drive Tesla Canada | Darryn@DriveTeslaCanada.ca Have a Tesla tip? Email tips@driveteslacanada.ca, or DM us on Twitter @DriveTeslaca