Canadian Project Arrow EV design competition narrowed down to 3 finalists

The Automotive Parts Manufacturers’ Association (APMA) has now chosen three concepts to move to the finalist selection stage for its Project Arrow electric vehicle design competition.

Drive Tesla Canada told you about Project Arrow earlier this year when AMPA were at CES to showcase the design competition. After opening for submissions in January, APMA approved 9 nine submissions to move to the evaluation stage.

The goal of the project is to design and build the first all-Canadian EV. It will be designed by Canadians, engineered by Canadians, and built by Canadians, in an effort to showcase the full extent of Canadian automotive technology.

Here are the three finalists who’s designs were selected by a panel of diverse industry experts.

Sea to Sky Electric’s E-Nova

Team Sea to Sky E-Nova

Submitted by Marie-Pier Alary and Bailee van Rikxoort, Wilson School of Design at Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Richmond, BC. This design appears to be similar to an SUV style vehicle with a wrap-around windshield, and impressive ground clearance.


Team Archer

Submitted by Stephen Bykowy, Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning in Toronto, ON. There’s not much to go on regarding the exterior design, but the interior appears to favour a shared autonomous driving vision for the future.


Team Traction

Submitted by Kaj Hallgrimsson, Jun-Won Kim, Mina Morcos and Matthew Schuetz at Carleton University in Ottawa, ON. From the teaser image, this design appears like a sleek, modern SUV with shape lines and headlights reminiscent of the Tesla Cybertruck.

Now that the finalists have been selected, the project will move on to the second phase. That will involve looking at the engineering of the concept vehicles, and is expected to begin on September 1, 2020.

Here’s the full list of members of the judging panel for Project Arrow:

  1. Ralph Gilles. Head of Design, FCA (Michigan, USA)
  2. Sarah Houde. CEO, Propulsion Quebec
  3. Ray Tanguay. President of Toyota Canada, Member of Toyota Global Executive Team (retired),
  4. Danny Stillion. Partner & Executive Design Director, IDEO (California, USA)
  5. Grace Quan. President & CEO, Hydrogen in Motion Inc.
  6. Michael Hainsworth. TV, Radio, Internet presenter
  7. Flavio Volpe. President, APMA
  8. Thomas Heermann. AVP, Automotive and Conceptual Design, Autodesk
  9. Colin Singh Dhillon. Jurist, Eyes on Design Competition, NAIAS, CTO, APMA

Source: Project Arrow

Previous Article

Tesla sales in China soar to new highs in latest figures

Next Article

Tesla Model 3 to come with wireless charging pad and USB-C ports as standard

You might be interested in …