Arctic Energy Alliance restarts EV rebate program in Northwest Territories

Model 3 drifting in snow

The Arctic Energy Alliance (AEA) is restarting rebates on electric vehicles (EVs), electric bikes, other on-the-land vehicles and chargers in the Northwest Territories. The Alliance confirmed that the program could be used for vehicles and residential Level 2 charging stations.

According to a report by My True North Now, the rebates for these vehicles and chargers will begin in April. The current program covers EVs that are $60,000 or less before options and taxes are applied, meaning for Tesla vehicles only the Model 3 RWD qualifies for the rebate.

Eligible vehicles will enjoy a $5,000 rebate for EVs or plug-in hybrid vehicles and 100% of the purchase cost of a Level 2 charger up to $500. The rebates are available for anyone in a community in the Northwest Territories that uses hydroelectric power and who has purchased an electric vehicle or a Level 2 charging station since April 1, 2022.

These communities include:

  • Behchoko
  • Dettah
  • Enterprise
  • Fort Resolution
  • Fort Smith
  • Hay River
  • Kal’odeeche
  • Ndilo
  • Yellowknife

The AEA is accepting applications until March 7, 2023 on their website. The program will continue past that day, but the details are still being worked out. The funding for the program comes from the Government of the Northwest Territories as part of the 2030 Energy Strategy for the territory.

About Scott Nordlund 1560 Articles
Originally from the West Coast, Scott is an avid writer & EV enthusiast now living in Ottawa. He holds a MA in Political Science and once played professional football in the German Football League. Email